The Auto Save feature in Rich Content Editor helps users retain new or edited content they may otherwise be lost from inadvertent browser reloads, loss of Internet connection, or navigating to another widow. 

When a user enters content in a Rich Content Editor window, the editor automatically saves the content for up to one hour. If the user navigates away from the page or another situation occurs where the user revisits the page within one hour, Canvas will notify the user if any saved content is different from the existing content. The user can preview the autosaved content and select the Yes button to load the autosaved content. Selecting the No button will discard the autosaved content.

auto save in Rich Content Editor

Read more about AutoSave